How to share a video privately on YouTube or Vimeo

1
You can share videos online privately on YouTube or Vimeo. This tutorial covers on How to share a video privately on YouTube or Vimeo.

Share a video privately on YouTube

  • Go to YouTube website.
  • Click on the upload button on right corner and select your private video which you want to upload and share.
  • After you’ve uploaded the private video to YouTube, click on Video Manager button near the top of the window or below the video box.
  • When you click on Video Manager, you will get Edit option. Once you click the Edit, you can find privacy settings options.
  • Once you click on privacy settings you will find below option:

Public: This is the default setting by YouTube on your video. Anyone can find and view your video. This will share your video publicly.

Unlisted:This option will hide your video i.e. it won’t appear on any internet searches, nor YouTube adds a link to it on any page. If you share the URL of your video then only people can access your video. So if you need to share the video with your friends, then you need to provide video link or URL.

Private: This option makes your video completely private. If you want to share this video with your friends, then you need to invite them through their google or YouTube account. So this video is only accessible to invited friends. But your friends need to have a google or YouTube account to access the video. You can invite up to 50 people.

Share a video privately on Vimeo

  • Go to Vimeo website.
  • For sharing video on Vimeo you should have Vimeo account and also your recipients have Vimeo account.
  • Click on the upload button on right corner and select your private video which you want to upload and share.
  • Drag or Drop or Select files to upload.
  • Once that’s done, Click on Privacy tab.
  • You will get privacy settings with below options.

Anyone – On selection of this option, it will allow anyone to see this video same as public

Only me – On selection of this option, video visible to you only and no one else can view this video

Only people I follow – On selection of this option, your video will be visible to people you follow on Vimeo.

Only people with password – On selection of this option, your video will be visible to only people with entered password.

Only people I choose – On selection of this option, your video will be visible to people to whom you selected in your Vimeo account.

  • To share video privately you need to select “Only people I choose”.
  • A small box called Add or remove users will appear below that option. Click it. In the resulting box, select people from those who follow and Click on Done.
  • Next setting in “Where can this video be embedded?” section, select nowhere.
  • Uncheck everything in the “What can people do with this video?” section.
  • Then click on “Save” button.
  • Now only those people can access the video to whom you have sent the URL.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Email